Fab February Finds

Two posts in one day…I better be careful or you might get used to this 🙂

We have both been travelling a lot with work over the last couple of weeks, so haven’t been eating too many at home meals.  But we had a few big hits that I had to share…

Hearty Chicken Stew with Butternut Squash & Quinoa – all I can say about this one is YUM, YUM, YUM.  The squash added sweetness, thickness and texture, the chicken was extremely tender, and the quinoa was the perfect touch.  I sent leftovers home with a friend and she was also a SUPER fan of this one.  I firmly recommend you make this tonight!

Squash Prepped & Ready to Go

Squash Prepped & Ready to Go

The last couple of times that I have used butternut squash, I bought the prepped squash from Costco but have found that it has a weird texture and taste.  This time, I bought a whole squash and prepped it myself…now, I realize that this may seem intimidating, but I managed to get er done in about 10 minutes, and with all 10 fingers in tact.  Victory!  And a welcome change from my typical style haha.  The verdict?  Prepped squash = $5.50, whole squash = $3.50 and 10 minutes of your time…your choice.

Vegetable Steamer - A Great Investment

Vegetable Steamer – A Great Investment

**Side Note – this thing is AMAZING for making hard boiled eggs…perfect every time!!

Poaching the Chicken

Poaching the Chicken

Have I Mentioned That I Love This Soup?

Have I Mentioned That I Love This Soup?

Ta-Da!!  The Finished Product

Ta-Da!! The Finished Product

Black Bean & Quinoa Burgers – these were another HUGE hit in our house.  A little bit of spice (I only used 1 chipotle pepper, but will bump it up to 2 the next time), and all kinds of nice.  I saved a few of the beans and added them whole (rather than mashing them all) for a bit of texture.  Next time I will probably add some shredded zucchini and/or carrots to bump up the veggie factor and add some moisture, but they were REALLY good.

Deeelicious!

Deeelicious!

The recipe made 6 good sized burgers (about 1/2 cup each), so this is another keeper recipe for quick, freezer friendly meals that make Monday nights just a little less hectic.  We didn’t make the greek yogurt, mustard & honey sauce…but served them with greek yogurt ranch (plain yogurt + ranch dressing powder), sliced avocado and easy peasy kale chips.

Dinner is Served

Dinner is Served

But with success comes failure…it does in my kitchen anyway.  I attempted to make these Sweet Potato Crisps to accompany a mushroom & zucchini frittata and fried deer sausage.  Thinking that I could save some time, I used my food processor to shred the potatoes…well, this was definitely not one of my top 10 best ideas.  The shred was too thick, so the potatoes didn’t cook and we ended up with raw potato mounds.  I think a finer shred, either with a microplane or the other processor shredding plate, would have resulted in crispier, cooked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Fail

Sweet Potato Fail

What’s on the menu this week you ask?

Sunday – Grilled Lemon Chicken and Roasted Carrot & Beet Salad w/Feta

Monday – Greek Salad w/Quinoa & Marinated Chick Peas … I am kind of winging this one, but am using Greek Pasta Salad and Cucumber & Tomato Salad w/Marinated Garbanzo Beans as inspiration

Tuesday – Grilled Shrimp with Salad

Wednesday – Black Bean & Quinoa Burgers 

Thursday – Chipotle Chicken Lettuce Wraps

What are you guys eating this week?  Anything worth sharing?  I would love to see some pictures!  As usual, I will try to post some reviews next weekend…or in a few weeks, whenever…

Chow for Now,

Red

Follow Me on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

