January Recap

Hi Friends!

Sorry for the lack of posting, lots has been going over the last few weeks.  I thought I would throw out a quick January Recap on a few meals we had last month, some keepers and some not so much.

Vietnamese Style Lettuce Cups – these were a big hit!  Salty, sweet, crunch from the veggies, and it’s all wrapped up in a crisp butter lettuce leaf.  Lettuce wraps are awesome because you can fill them with so many things…taco meat, tuna salad, quinoa & beans…or in this case, yummy Asian flavoured ground pork.  The sauce recipe makes a LOT, so you could easily half it and have enough for leftovers.  Definitely a keeper.

Prepped & Ready to Go

Prepped & Ready to Go

Ta-Da!!  Delicious Set Up

Ta-Da!! Delicious Set Up

Cauliflower Steaks with Spinach Gratin – holy F, this was a top ten Meatless Monday meal for sure!  I have seen cauliflower steaks on Pinterest before but wasn’t 100% sold.  These sold me.  The roasted cauliflower has great texture and a bit of sweetness, the creamy and salty spinach cheese sauce was a-m-a-z-i-n-g.  Make this NOW.

Cauliflower "Steaks"

Roasted Cauliflower “Steaks”

Cheese & Spinach.  Yum.  That is All.

Cheese + Spinach = YUM

SO Good!!

SO Good!!

Turkey Zucchini Meatballs – these were an awesome find.  They have great flavour, the zucchini adds moisture and the recipe makes a ton, so I was able to freeze them and had 2 quick and easy weekday meals before going to get my ass kicked by the trainer.

Easy, Delicious Meatballs

Easy, Delicious Meatballs

Thai Red Curry Butternut Squash Soup – unfortunately this came with mixed reviews.  The first attempt was so f-ing spicy that we couldn’t eat it and the second time, I burnt the squash so it had a really bitter taste.  But I encourage you to try it, because the flavour profile really should work!  Coconut milk, red curry paste, sweet squash…it should have worked!

Thai Red Curry Butternut Squash Soup

Thai Red Curry Butternut Squash Soup

Korean Flank Steak – the marinade in this recipe was pretty good, but I have decided that I don’t like working with flank steak, so I probably won’t make it again.  I just find that the steak is really touchy when it comes to cooking it perfectly, and when it’s overcooked it’s really not good.  But the marinade itself was yum and if you like flank steak, this one is worth a try!

Roasted Tomato and Zucchini Frittata – I freaking love frittatas…can’t say enough good things about them.  Quick, easy, and a great way to cram a ton of vegetables into one meal along with the protein filled goodness of the incredible, edible egg.

Frittata!

I Heart Frittata!

Shrimp and Broccoli – another keeper!  Throw the ingredients on a cookie sheet and roast, how hard could that be?  Throw in a bowl with some soy sauce and rice or quinoa and you’ve got dinner.  Done.

Apple Cinnamon Baked Oatmeal – if you are a regular reader, or follow me on Pinterest, you will know that this has become a weekly regular in our house.  Tastes like candy but is full of real, good for you ingredients, and it is super easy to throw together and bake on Sunday.  This feeds us for the entire week, 9-10 servings in total, and I just throw it in the microwave and eat with a splash of cream.  Make this NOW!!

Baked Breakfast Awesomeness

Baked Breakfast Awesomeness

I encourage you to try some of these and let me know what you think.  I’ll be back with a few February finds (say that quickly 10 times) that I am sure you will love.

Chow for Now,

Red

Follow Me on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

