A Busy 2 Weeks

Hi friends, my apologies for neglecting the page last week, I have been kicking ass in Calgary Corporate Challenge for the last 14 days. For those of you not in the city, CCC is like the Olympics for corporate Calgary. There’s about 40 activities that you can participate in, from soccer to basketball to cribbage to putt putt. Me? We did ultimate frisbee and soccer, and we medalled in slo-pitch and horseshoes (holla!). So ya, I have had Subway for dinner like 4 times in the last 2 weeks…but that’s healthy-ish, right?

When not doing the 6″ turkey on brown, we did manage to have a couple of delicious meals. As you may have read here this is what was planned for the Sept 9-15th:

Sunday: Minestrone Soup
Monday: Beef & Broccoli with Vegetable Fried Rice
Tuesday: Parchment Baked Salmon w/ Lemon & Herb Butter and Grilled Vegetable Salad
Wednesday: Leftover Minestrone Soup
Thursday: Parmesan Baked Chicken w/ Spicy Roasted Golden Beets and Rosemary Potato Wedges

The Minestrone was just a bowl of happiness. Have I mentioned that I LOVE soup? It was hearty, full of tons of vegetables and beans and it made about 4 cups of leftovers for my freezer.  Plus vegetable soup is the easiest way possible to clean out your Fridge(smarts).

Prepped & Ready

Prepped & Ready

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Best Rachael Ray tip known to man? Use a garbage bowl. Put a big bowl out when you are prepping to throw all your scraps in. One trip to the garbage or compost? Yes please.

Garbage Bowl, do this.

Garbage Bowl, do this.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And here was the finished product.   Yum is right.

Yum.

Yum.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Beef and Broccoli was a million times better than anything I could have gotten at our local Chinese take-out.  I ended up having to double the marinade because I had a ton of steak and added sriracha for some extra spiceliciousness (it’s a word).  We also threw in carrots and mushrooms to help stretch the recipe for leftovers.  Like I said, it was delicious.  The thinly sliced steak was really tender and the sauce was salty and spicy and just, yum.

Beef-a-licious

Beef-a-licious

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The baked salmon got swapped out for these Grilled Salmon & Lemon Kabobs, which were fab. I figured that if I was using the grill pan already, we might as well grill the salmon too (less dirty dishes, obv). The kabobs turned out pretty good.  We had a few sticking issues but the lemon really made the salmon taste bright and fresh, and the recipe was quick and easy. The Grilled Vegetable Salad was amazing, again. We made this while we were camping on Labor Day wknd and it was a huge hit. I used whatever roasted garlic type salad dressing I had in the fridge, and we used goat cheese this time because that was what I had in the fridge. Use what you have people!!

So good

So good

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We didn’t make it to the chicken, I had bootcamp.  But was the extra prep-time on Sunday worth it?  Absolutely.  While I was cutting up veggies for the soup, I also cleaned and prepped the veg for the beef & broccoli and the grilled salad.  I sliced and marinated the steak in my Season-Serve(r) and pulled out the salmon so that it was good and defrosted by Tuesday.  The baked oatmeal was a huge hit and was easy to heat up and devour with a splash of cream at work.  A couple hours of time spent Sunday getting organized really made the week go easier.  Who wants to spend hours making dinner every night after being at work all day?  Certainly not me.

So what’s for dinner this week?  I’m not really sure to be totally honest.  I made up baggies of raw veggies and ranch dip, boiled some eggs and mixed some salmon salad for lunch.  I also made smoothies for breakfast tomorrow, but besides that I haven’t really worked out a meal plan for this week.  I’m tired.  I have no excuses.  I even had canned mushroom soup for dinner because I just don’t have the energy to be kitchen-fabulous tonight.  Plus the Emmys are on.  But I know that I have lettuce, spaghetti squash, beets, kale and a yellow pepper to be used up.  So we’ll see what happens.  You know you’ll get the scoop next week!

Hope everyone has a fabulous and delicious week.  What’s on the menu at your house?  Any ideas for my “need to be used up” veggies?

Chow for Now,

Red

PS – I have to apologize for the ghetto-ness of the blog so far.  I haven’t had the time to figure out how to use a fancy camera, so iPhone pics are about as good as it gets these days.  I’ve also been struggling with the spacing & images, but I told you this was a work in progress.  I am definitely learning as I go, so thanks for your patience 🙂

Follow Me on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

