Spring Recap

Hello Internet Friends,

Obviously I dropped the ball the last few months.  Like dropped it a long way down.  It’s been a busy spring so I have been trying to do some major big batch cooking…sometimes just for myself, and sometimes for a mommy friend of mine that has no time to prep and cook on the weekends. I actually love it. If I could somehow turn food prep & shopping into a home business, I would totally quit my job and do it.  Maybe when I win the Lotto Max…

Food Prep Saves Lives

Food Prep Saves Lives

There are a few winner recipes that I have come across that I’ve been making in large batches to have on hand for quick weekday meals …

Turkey, Zucchini & Quinoa Meatballs – these are delicious!  I have made these twice now and they are a freezer staple.  My friend Jo also tested them on her 1 yr & 5 year olds and they were a hit.  We eat ‘em in lettuce wraps with marinara & mozzarella, but you could have it on spaghetti squash or pasta instead.  Obviously you could omit the cheese, but why would you do that? I mean, Really.

Make These Now!

Make These Now!

Spinach & Feta Burgers – I actually turned these into meatballs but they were delicious just the same.  Roasted garlic and feta…need I say more?  Make these too.

Who Doesn't Love a Turkey Meatball?

Who Doesn’t Love A Turkey Meatball?

Black Bean & Quinoa Veggie Burgers – I have talked about these before.  Just make them.

Chipotle Delicious Black Bean & Quinoa Burgers

Mini Ham & Cheese Quinoa Cups – I don’t have a picture, but these are super customizable and can be tossed in the microwave for a quick lunch (served w/salad or veggies & greek yogurt ranch) or a snack.  Besides the ham/zucchini/cheese in the Pinterest link, which were delish by the way, we have also done spinach/mushroom/feta and ham/broccoli/cheddar and they were delicious too.  Still on the idea list to try are chicken/black beans/salsa, sun dried tomato/artichoke/mozza, pepperoni pizza…Really, the options are endless.  If you don’t want mini (or don’t have a mini muffin tin) there are instructions on making full sized muffins in the comments on the link.

Here are some other delicious recipes that we’ve tried over the last few months…

Crockpot Chicken Chili Tostada Stacks – Holy F.  This is possibly the best thing I’ve tried on Pinterest so far.  Make this immediately.  Spicy, sweet, creamy, crunchy, cheesy…and any other word-“y” descriptor you can come up with.

This picture doesn't do it justice, but this was f-ing amazing.

This picture doesn’t do it justice, but this was f-ing amazing.

Chili – I don’t follow a recipe…just brown some meat and throw it in the slow cooker. Add some veggies and spices, throw in some beans and tomatoes…slowcook for about 6 hours.  Dinner.  Done.

Spicy Delicious Chili

Spicy Delicious Chili

Chipotle Chicken Lettuce Wraps

Chipotle Chicken Lettuce Wraps

Chipotle Chicken Lettuce Wraps

Pesto Shrimp & Grilled Vegetable Salad – I was always scared to make pesto, but this is a new go-to for me.  Basil is cheap in the summer (or you could pick up a fresh plant for under $10), and a huge batch of the pesto in the freezer comes in handy for quick easy meals.  Toss with chicken & pasta, shrimp & spaghetti squash or this easy salad.  On prep day, toss shrimp & pesto in a ziploc, throw your favourite summer veggies (peppers, zucchini, mushrooms, red onion etc.) in a second bag with some oil and spices and you are good to go.  You can also serve with some quinoa & pesto vinaigrette (pesto + lemon juice + oil) for extra bulk & protein. There are lots of ways to cook this…bbq, grill pan, a cast iron pan…or the most amazing purchase ever?  A cast iron grill pan!  I bought one last year for camping but started using it in the oven over the winter.  It is awesome for getting that smoky grilled flavour that you’re craving when it’s December and grilling season is still 4-6 months away.  Boom.

Pesto Shrimp & Grilled Vegetable Salad

Pesto Shrimp & Grilled Vegetable Salad

Black Bean & Bison Burgers – these are from my fantastic kickboxing instructor & friend, Rebecca.  She has designed an awesome clean eating program & wrote a beautiful cookbook, called Nourish.  You can check out a few of her featured recipes over here.  Trust me, just buy the book.  It’s all real, easy to prepare and (most importantly) delicious food. PS – these were also done on the cast iron grill pan. Buy one. You won’t regret it.

Lean & Mean Black Bean & Bison Burgers

Lean & Mean Black Bean & Bison Burger

So far we have not had many fails.  Only a couple that I can think of actually…

Creamy Cauliflower Sauce – My friend Steph at work sent me this recipe and looooves it.  For me?  It was a total Fail.  I think this would be better with roasted garlic…a possible 2nd attempt could be in the future, but I obviously did something wrong because it just tasted like raw garlic and ended up in the trash.

Broccoli & Kale Soup from Nourish – this one should have been delicious, but we omitted the green onion (because not everyone likes onion for some reason) and it was seriously lacking in flavour.  It looked cool tho…

Green Soup!

Green Soup!

I’m sure there’s lots of other things that we have tried, but I figured a big photo dump was due.  I will be back with some monthly food planning tips shortly.

Cheers,
Red

Follow Me on Pinterest

One thought on “Spring Recap

  1. Thanks so much for mentioning my quinoa zucchini meatballs. I’m so glad that you and your kids loved them as much as we do! And now I have to try those tostada stacks.

Leave a Reply

